Life on Prince Edward Island, eh?

Anne of Green Gables, red sand, and potatoes are the three main things that come to mind when thinking about Prince Edward Island. But have you ever wondered what it’s like to live on a tiny island in the middle of the Maritimes? I consider myself lucky to be an island girl, born and raised. So here’s a little insight on what it’s like to be an Islander.

  1. We are used to people commenting on the way we speak. We don’t think we have an accent, but we do. Whether it be English or French, people always have something to say about our quaint accent.
  2. In a French school comprised of pre-kindergarten classes through to the 12th grade and consisting of only 200 students, you’re bound to be related to someone, right? Try this on for size: 1 first cousin was in my class, the other 10 were spread throughout the grades. I had an aunt and an uncle as teachers, not to mention the many great-aunts who taught there. My uncle was the principle. My other uncle was on the school board. I just couldn’t escape the family ties! This is the reality for many students on Prince Edward Island, especially those seeking quality French education.
  3. When visiting just about anywhere in the world, you get asked where you’re from. “Prince Edward Island” I say with a smirk on my face, knowing I’m about to get the ever so common “Where?”. Canada. I come from Canada.
  4. Contrary to popular belief, we aren’t taught “Anne of Green Gables” as a subject in school. In fact, most people don’t even know the story behind this famous name.
  5. It’s no lie that we are potato county. My neighbor? A potato field. The view from just about any road? A potato field. We may not eat meat and potatoes every night for supper, but we are damn proud of where they come from when we do!
  6. “Islanders are so friendly and welcoming!” Yes, we are quite friendly if I do say so myself! But don’t let this fool you, we still get frustrated when stuck behind a slow driving tourist on our way to work. The Island is a beautiful place to visit, especially in the summer. But I think I speak for all Islanders when I say this: Our speed limits are slow enough without driving behind someone taking in the view of every. single. potato field. Please, pull over to take photos.
  7. BEACHES! There are so many of them! I mean, we’re literally surrounded. Anywhere you visit on PEI is less than an hour away from a beach, doesn’t that sound like a dream? We, as Islanders, are blessed by the beauty of red sand and salty seas. (Just a tip, Basin Head is my personal favorite!)

Of course I could go on forever about what it’s like to live on this breathtaking island, but I’d rather you come experience it for yourself, as it truly is one of a kind!

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

