It was only the beginning

It was in the Fall months of 2008, I was 13 years old sitting on my parents’s bathroom floor staring at my wrists with a razor blade in my hand, trying to gather the courage to release the bottled up pain by cutting into my adolescent skin. With a sigh, I wiped my tears and hid the razor back in my cupboard. I pulled down my sleeves and took a deep breath before exiting the bathroom. In the short walk to my bedroom (basically across the hall) I could hear my parents playing with my 6 year old brother and not even acknowledging me as I made my way back into my comfortable dungeon. I slammed the door a little harder than usual which resulted in complete silence in the house, then the laughs and teasing continued as they ignored my cry for help. I pulled my blue therapy binder from under my bed and began drawing the things I was seeing in my head. I drew pictures of clowns, evil teddy bears, my wandering mind came up with terrorizing pictures. When I look back on it now, it’s unbelievable. I can’t believe stigma had me so afraid that I  had to put up with this internal torture ALONE. I knew something wasn’t right when I couldn’t feel happiness, even though I had everything anyone could wish for. Sure, I had manic episodes and good days where I thought things were great, but there were also days I dumped my full bottle of antidepressants into my mouth and didn’t have it in me to swallow. And so back then, little did I know that at 21, I would have survived a battle with myself and be ready to finally share my story with the world.

More to come.

Blessings, all

xx

One thought on “It was only the beginning

Add yours

  1. I’m sorry you have been through what you have but I am so glad that you have come out the other side and are able to share your story. I look forward to hearing more so I am following your blog. Well done on your achievements!

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

